Question Seeking advice: headphones for opera & classical music

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the What HiFi community: the world's leading independent guide to buying and owning hi-fi and home entertainment products.

Vincent Kars

If I found added warmth beautiful (I don't know yet)
Have a look at EQ
You can use this to "tune" any headphone.
To much bass, just EQ a couple of dB's off (although Sennheiser is consider bass shy, I always do as I do think the bass to pronounced for classical)
Need warmth? A slight emphasize of the mids will do (even better, leave them as they are and lower the rest to is avoids clipping).

As I'm on Win & Android, can't advice you on OSX but maybe this one gets you started.

Reactions: miss_sophie

AVDude

Oct 17, 2020
Visit site
Hello all,

I am a newbie and am honestly confused by all the reviews I read, I have read some of the very helpful threads here, but they were either several years old or the requirements differed from mine, so I hope it is is ok to renew the question:
Which headphones would you recommend most for opera and instrumental music?
They are mainly going to be used in a quiet environment at home, and the source is a macbook pro (question there as well: which is better value for the money: should I stick to low impedance - or buy a DAC, which means I could spend less on the headphones themselves?). I can spend a max. of 250 USD in total, whether with DAC or not.
It would be nice if they are somehow also suitable allrounders, as I can't currently afford a separate pair for the occassional movie or other genres I also listen to, but less frequently.

I have been looking into the Beyerdynamic DT 880 Edition and 990, but am unsure with which DAC in this price range those would work well. The DAC shouldn't be too bulky.

Thank you in advance - I'll be grateful for any advice!