Rega rp1 performance OR pro-ject debut carbon/3se

Jake12988

Mar 25, 2012
Visit site
Any one own either of these, and which would be a best first turnable for me, I'll be running it into the phono in the yamaha as500 for now, speakers are MA bx2's on soundstyle z2 stands,

im new to turntables, I'm 'only' 24, so for my generation it's a bit of a mystery, however growing up with a dad obsessed with music, I'm a keen music and hi fi lover!

I really want to get into vinyl, borrow some of me dads old vinyls, as well as start to make my own collection!

Which TT will be best out of the two/three I've put in title? I'm thinking rega rp1 with the performance pack? I can't demo any, so please feel free to share experience and advice...

thanks in advance,

jake

stevebrock

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
Jake12988 said:
Any one own either of these, and which would be a best first turnable for me, I'll be running it into the phono in the yamaha as500 for now, speakers are MA bx2's on soundstyle z2 stands,

im new to turntables, I'm 'only' 24, so for my generation it's a bit of a mystery, however growing up with a dad obsessed with music, I'm a keen music and hi fi lover!

I really want to get into vinyl, borrow some of me dads old vinyls, as well as start to make my own collection!

Which TT will be best out of the two/three I've put in title? I'm thinking rega rp1 with the performance pack? I can't demo any, so please feel free to share experience and advice...

thanks in advance,

jake

RP1 with performance pack is a great TT, it got me into vinyl, I got addicted in a big way and now onto an RP6!

However vinyl is not for everyone - It takes a lot of commitment ie cleaning records, records in anti static sleeves, stylus care but I think it is very rewarding just to sit down, relax and enjoy the sound of it.

If you dont like it (doubtful) you can always sell the RP1 on for not much loss - I am sure you wont!

Also the RP1 will come more or less set up straight out of the box