Question Rega P1 vs Audio Technica AT-LP3

pjsev_07

Nov 19, 2019
Visit site
Hello Guys,
I am quite new to the turntable scene. Based on my budget and most reviews, I am narrowing it down to 2 options:
1. Rega Planar 1
2. Audio Technica AT-LP3

I am not after a state-of-the-art audiophile setup. Just easy, weekend listening with minimal to no calibration, plug-and-play type of setup. My current component/s is an old-school Musical Fidelity B1 amp, with Monitor Audio Silver 2 speakers.
I was more inclined to getting the Rega, simply because of the all-UK configuration. But when I heard about the LP3, it could be a good option as well.

Have you guys compared these 2? Which is better in terms of sound quality, and ease of maintenance?

Thanks in advance

pjsev_07

Nov 19, 2019
Visit site
The Rega would be my choice. But, I believe it comes with the Carbon cartridge, which is not the best. Speak to the dealer about having an upgraded cart fitted - you won't regret it.

Thank you for your suggestions chris_bates1974 and Al ears. I plan to upgrade them to an Ortofon 2M in the future. But I'll bet the stock cartridge would still sound good, and will surely make the most out of it first. :)

pjsev_07

Nov 19, 2019
Visit site
Thanks for your comments. In that case, I don't think the Ortofon would be my option. I don't plan on modifying the turntable that would meddle its "physics". Is there a non-Rega cartridge out there that's simply a plug-and-play type? No shimming, no special fitting whatsoever? But I've heard good reviews about the Bias 2, being a decent upgrade as well.

D

Deleted member 108165

As I've said try the AT95E or other cartridges, infact the Rega Carbon is an AT91, just rebadged. So look at the Audio Technica line, and audition some.
Audition some cartridges! This is nigh on impossible without actually purchasing them on a trial and error basis. The only way to audition carts is on youtube... not the best method.