Real Noob..multiple questions on entry level TT setup

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Read through the forums here for the last couple days so I'm getting some "education". Regardless, still have some questions to ask.

I'm based in the US and recently heard some old LPs playing and just got the desire to start collecting records. Have about 50 so far and it will be growing.

Now, I'm interested in beginner TT, however, I am a complete noob. I looked around this forum and think I'm mostly interested in the RP1 (or maybe RP3). Definitely don't want to venture into used, old TTs.

Now for my questions:

(1) I currently have Sonos 5, which has line in, 2x Sonos 3 and a Sonos sub. I am not too concerned about upgrading speakers right now as I like what I have, so will ideally want to connect my TT to the Sonos system through the line in. If I buy an RP1/RP3, what else do I need to buy to be able to connect through the line-in? I've been reading about amps, pre-amps, phono stages and quite frankly, I'm confused. Would just like to know what I'd need to connect through the line-in.

(2) Next I've been reading a lot about cartridges. Is the stock cartridge on the RP1 decent or will I need to replace it?

(3) What do you think about the "performance pack" for the RP1? Worth it? I mean, even with the performance pack, it is still $500 less than an RP3 with elys cartridge. So is the sound quality only marginally better for the extra $200 it costs to go from RP1 to RP1 performance?

I'd love to buy an RP3 with elys, but it's too expensive @ $1100 PLUS I'd have to buy whatever amp/pre-amp/phono stage as well, so I think I'm definitely in the lower end :(

Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

Whilst I cannot help you on question 1 (I've never used a Sonus) I can maybe assist on the others.

The Ortofon cartridge fitted to RP1 is OK but obviously built to a budget.