Project Genie MK3 Skipping Problem

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi All,

I'm still quite new to the world of vinyl so apologies for anything silly I may say in the below!

I've recently bought a Project Genie 3, and have it hooked up to my hi-fi via a preamp. However, I am having problems with records skipping and looping the same split second of music. Strangely this doesn't happen on all records, and on the records it does happen on, it seems to do it at certain parts of the song. I've tried adjusting the arm weight which has helped the problem slightly, but I'm not sure how safe it is having the weight so much higher than it's supposed to be.

Basically, I'm at a bit of a loss as to what else to do to fix the problem, which I'm sure shouldn't be happening as the MK3 is apparently a pretty good bit of kit. I don't think it's a problem with my records as most of them are new. I've read it could be a problem with vibrations causing the needle to jolt about in which case, what would be the best way to fix that?

Any other ideas would be greatly appreciated as i'm at a bit of a loss!

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
Sounds to me like you either have the counterweight installed incorrectly, so you're not getting as much tracking weight as you think you are, or the anti-skating weight setting is wrong.

Have another look at the manual for instructions on how to set these up correctly.

It's also possible the records on which the problem is apparent have some dirt in the grooves which is causing the stylus to skip back one revolution. Might be worth investing in some kind of record-cleaning brush!

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
Set it up again as if you had just removed from the box for the first time. Follow the instructions to the letter - especially regarding the anti-skate/bias setting - and ensure that the deck is on a totally level surface.
Manuals here.

bretty

Jul 20, 2007
Visit site