Question Pro-Ject 1Xpression iii lopsided platter - Facebook purchase

moonklash

Feb 17, 2022
Visit site
Hi there,

I'm new to hi-fi so apologies if I get any of the terminology wrong.

I've just started out on my hi-fi journey using whatever I can beg, borrow, or buy second hand. I picked up a cheap Pro-Ject 1Xpression iii this weekend from Facebook Marketplace but didn't check it properly. I've now discovered some problems - I was wondering if anybody could offer any advise on if this is repairable and what I should do next?

I've used a spirit level to make sure that the surface and the plinth are level. However, the platter looks lopsided and when I switch her on, it grinds against the plinth:

20220217_123227.jpg

This could have happened whilst transporting it home, but I don't believe so as I can see a light scratch on the plinth:

20220217_123532.jpg

Removing the platter, the subplatter looks lopsided:

20220217_123311.jpg

There's a lot of play within the subplatter (don't know if this is normal). I can push it to the right, but it slumps back to the left. I can lift it up a short distance (again, don't know how much of this is normal).

20220217_123317.jpg

20220217_123329.jpg

It does turn on, and the motor is very quiet. However I can hear the platter grinding and I didn't want to play any vinyl for more than a few seconds as I was concerned it would damage the vinyl and stylus.

I don't suppose anybody can offer any advise as to whether there's something I can / should be doing to fix this? I'm not entirely sure that the seller would let me return this.

Many thanks in advance,

Stu.

EDIT: I've recorded a short video to demonstrate this -https://youtu.be/cnEI0ai8fj0

Last edited:

moonklash

Feb 17, 2022
Visit site
Ah drat - I was hoping there would be something I was obviously doing wrong.