Please Help - completely baffled!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I'm currently running a pair of Revolver RW16 stand mount speakers with Rega Brio 3 amp and Planet CD player and I know I need to change the speakers. I love what the Rega kit does as it sounds so clean, lively and musical to my ears but the speakers somehow sound too 'jangly' (excuse my use of non true HiFi terminology). I know these are supposed to be good speakers and worked well with my old Cambridge audio kit. I don't know if I need to improve the quality of the speakers or just change the flavour of the sound. After reading through many threads in here, it seems like speakers have the greatest impact on the overall sound of a system.

Can anyone make any suggestions about what speakers I should be looking at and what budget?

How well would Wharfedale Evo2 10's work and are these good quality speakers?

I am very new to the hi fi thing and would really appreaciate any suggestions and help from you experts out there.

David

T

the record spot

First things first; I'm completely unconvinced that speakers make the biggest change to the sound of your kit. Having swapped bits of kit around this past year, I think it's a fallacy to be taken in by this. Don;t mean to be confrontational with regard to yours or anyone else's opinion, but I've changed my speakers this year and there was a slight change (as expected).

I've also changed my CD player and I've also changed my amp. The biggest change to date has been changing the amp. The biggest changes in order so far have been 1) amp, 2) source and 3) speakers.

If you factor in a change to my interconnect too, then they come third and speakers last.