Pearl Lite amp questions ??

hew1

Feb 22, 2013
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to forums so please bear with me :help:

I have a Pearl Lite amp and I'm thinking of either bi-amping or using it as a pre-amp and adding a power amp(would rather bi-amp but bit unsure of how to set it up) My questions are will the tone controls and balance work and does anyone know what the gain is for this amp so I can find a power amp to match,I've checked online but can't find it anywhere.

Any info would be much appriciated...thanx in advance

Mark :rockout:

Hi Mark

It will work in theory but Marantz amps aren't routinely setup to anticipate either of those approaches, though they have the capability on paper. You can split pre- and power- but in the UK I'm not aware of any Marantz poweramps. I guess you could buy the same again, and (based on my reading of the spec only - check with your dealer first!) then connect just the pweramp of amp 2 to the pre-out.

Your tone controls and balance will still work in the preamp, as long as you don't bypass them with Source Direct.

All that said what do you imagine either will actually achieve? I've used 'imagine' deliberately, because frankly I doubt you need a 2 or 3 dB more loudness! And what is the rest of your system and listening preferences?

ID.

Feb 22, 2010
Visit site
No idea if it will bring any improvements, but Marantz has poweramps such as the MM70925. listed as an AV amp, but it is channel rather than 5.

hew1

Feb 22, 2013
Visit site
Hi nopiano,

thanks for the info..very helpful :)

I have recently put together my first "proper" hifi system which is Roksan Caspian M1 cdp,Pearl Lite amp,Monitor Audio GX100's,Partington Broadside stands,Atlas Integra interconnects and Audioquest FLX-SLip 14/4 speaker cable.It is set up in bedroom at the moment which is approx 4x4 metres witn a carpeted concrete floor,speakers are approx 5 ft apart and 30 cm from back wall.