Oops amplifier explosion

Johnno2

Feb 2, 2009
Visit site
Not mine, thank goodness :pray: , My friend has reconnected his speakers after moving house, not realising some of the fine strands of the speaker cable were touching on the + and - on the speakers posts, He said the music played ok for a couple of seconds then it tripped off, He turned it offf straight away, checked the conection which were now ok , He then went to turn the amp back on and he said there was a loud bang with a bright flash from inside the unit :O . I have been to look at it and it lights up but with the LED flahing and a strange noise. There is no output. I am not an electrician but I would have though the protection circuit would have activated, Now he is bothered that anything connected, such as the CD player could have had a surge going through via the inputs to affect it, or that something on the speakers is damaged, could this be possible from a blown output stage on the amp, I would have thought not with anything connected to the inputs , but not so sure about the speakers, Before gets his amp repaired, it means me lugging mine round to see if the speakers and CD sound OK, Surley if the amp to speaker cable short circuits and blows the output tansistors nothing would go through the speakers to damage them :?

And what about any surges to components connected on the inputs

Any electronic/electricians out there

Inter_Voice

Oct 5, 2010
Visit site
If you heard a big bang and saw sparks I would have though that one of the capacitors has exploded. Open up the case and look for a damaged cap.

Johnno2

Feb 2, 2009
Visit site
Inter_Voice said:
If you heard a big bang and saw sparks I would have though that one of the capacitors has exploded. Open up the case and look for a damaged cap.