Novice setting up system for Xbox, Sonos, Blueray, V+, the right choices?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am new to the whole home cinema set-up. I’ve been living with my excellent 32” Loewe CRT for several years now and it’s still going strong. I’ve always wanted to upgrade to a HD TV but we don’t watch many moves since our little girls arrived and there’s not much HD on Virgin’s V+.

So whilst we’re keeping the Loewe in the main living room for now for SD viewing, I’ve managed to grab myself a bit of space for some big boys stuff in amongst a houseful of barbies, pink beanbags, fairies, hairdryers, etc in the playroom. I’m finally getting a Xbox 360 for Christmas and I need something to watch it on. I’m going to be sitting around 3m away from the set and the space is just perfect for a 50” Pioneer PDP-LX5090 or KRP-500A (I’m waiting for the What HiFi comparison which is hopefully coming soon). I would also like to get a Blueray player in addition to an existing V+ box. I’m also planning to put various Sonos players around the house, so I need this to fit in with the system too. I don’t have much space around the TV for big speakers. I’m looking for a 2.1 set-up initially, although I may want to expand this later.

The system will be mainly for Xbox playing and Sonos music playing, with some Blueray/V+ movies.

Being a complete novice I popped into my local Sevenoaks Sound & Vision. The guys in this particular store are not the most approachable, treating my novice questions with disdain, however I’ve persevered and managed to drag a recommendation out of them:

TV: Pioneer PDP-LX5090 (£2000 to £2500)
AV amp: Pioneer VSX-LX51 (£800)
Blueray: Pioneer BDP-LX71 (£600)
Speakers: 2 x Monitor Audio R270HD (£600) plus Monitor Audio R360HD sub (£400)