Novice needs some advice

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello, thought you might be able to help a complete novice....

My kit:

Panasonic 37px80b

Panasonic DM35 Blu Ray Player

Humax Freesat HDR

All good stuff, but im finding the sound is appalling; I haven't any space for an amp and can't have anything more than a 2.1 speaker system so whats the best way to improve the sound? I've a budget of about £200 - if the choice is between sound quality and looks then looks would have to come first to satisfy 'her indoors'

Thanks

A

Anonymous

I don't have any space for any kind of amp

Will i see a much better sound quality if I hook up some of these?

http://whathifi.com/Review/Wharfedale-Diamond-91/

I know these are hifi speakers but I'm assuming I can hook these up to my tv or am I barking up the wrong tree?

What I'd really like are some small 'cube like' speakers that I can park either side of the tv that aren't going to be that noticeable but still deliver some oomph.

simonlewis

Apr 15, 2008
Visit site
You can't plug speakers straight into the tv,

What you can do is buy something like the Denon DM37DAB, & using phono cables hook it up to your tv for a better stereo sound.

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
If you have no space for an amp, look at some active speakers - the amp is built into the speaker so you can directly hook them up to the TV. There's a group test of them in the latest issue of WHF, but some examples exist on the site here. Something like the Audioengine A5s or the Cygnett-Unison iX5 (which has the benefit of a remote control). I would recommend looking at placing them on proper speaker stands if you can.

Just saw your note about small speakers, in which case maybe the Audioengine A2s might be better - though controlling the volume on these could be a bit tricky as is discussed in this post.

A

Anonymous

Thanks for the replies