Newbie to home cinema

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the What HiFi community: the world's leading independent guide to buying and owning hi-fi and home entertainment products.
B

BIGBERNARDBRESSLAW

I have a 2400es (my 1st surround amp) and it was a doddle to set up, so don't understand that at all.

A

Anonymous

How did you guess? lol they seem to tell you a different story everytime you call. Everyone has a different opinion. I'm going to get the Jamos no matter what. The receiver i'm struggling with at the moment.

I've read the sony's are bright! Think I'm going to have to stretch the budget and go for the onkyo 508 or maybe yamaha 467. I don't know, think I might just go in store and buy whichever is in stock!! lol Don't think I should do that though. I'll regret it :)

A

Anonymous

I'm definately starting to lean towards getting the Sony STR-DA2400ES based on advice on this and other forums. As a total newbie myself, I needed convincing I wasn't about to make a mistake getting a ~2yr old amp that would be a nightmare for someone of my experience to setup. I think those concerns are pretty much addressed, so now onto choosing some speakers!

B

BIGBERNARDBRESSLAW

Good decision, and in the unlikely event of problems connecting, just put a post on here and I'm sure there will be people able to help

A

Anonymous

Which speaker cable should I go for? I'm getting the Yamaha 467 and the Jamo a102. I need approx 27 metres. I've been told qed ultra micro. Is this too good for the speakers I'm getting?

A

Anonymous

How would I connect up my old school Humax PVR 9200T to one of these bad boys (Sony DA2400ES)? At the moment it's scart straight into my TV (no component out)... Would the video upscaling likely be any better than my Samsung LE40C650 TV? (i.e. would it be worth going through the amp in the first place?)

A

Anonymous