Newbie Setup Help Requested (decisions made and story updated)

bewater

Aug 6, 2015
Visit site
****UPDATE 1 DEC 2015*****

dsrussell;38966169 said:
I was wondering about your choice. Thanks for letting us know. Now, also let us know how everything sounds :).
So actually, here's the story thus far. My current set-up is Tidal (trial subscription) --> AVR (Denon Avr-x3200w) --> Parasound a23 --> ATC SCM 7 mkiii and REL T5. The Parasound was a later addition. My dealer advised that I should really pick out the speakers first, and although the ATC is notoriously difficult to drive, I can always upgrade and as a beginner, I may not hear the difference. Unfortunately for my wallet, I could immediately tell that the ATCs were not performing as well as driven by the AVR, rather than my dealer's set up. I wasn't sure it was because of the analytical ability or the lack of power (my avr is rated at 105w into 8 ohms) -- so when my dealer recommended me just to add a power amp may solve my problem for now (rather than going for a integrated amp), I was skeptical because the a23 is 125 into 8 ohms, which is not that much more powerful .... However, I happened to be able to borrow from a good friend a parasound a23 (on a long term basis) a few days later and boy, it made a difference (can someone give me a scientific reason why only 20 watts extra from a dedicated power amp would make difference? Anyways, now I am thinking what's my next step. I use by xbox360 as the CD player ---> so I need a CD player, a network stream (better DAC than the Denon) and a pre-amp. Budget around 1k -1.5k. Any recommendation as to priorities and brands? used is fine. I am also seeking out a cheaper set of center speaker and surround speaker to round out my 5.1 (since I am 70% music 30% movie I think I can go cheaper). Hopefully can get this done under $400 if I go used. ************************END OF UPDATE*************************************