Newbie query - network system on budget

mhoskins13

Apr 12, 2013
Visit site
Hi, I am new to things hi-fi, but am hoping for some advice on a potential purchase. I have previously had pretty basic all-in-one micro systems, but have not had a complete system for a while. I listen to a lot of radio and have a standalone internet radio. Most of my music is on the computer having been ripped from CDs or downloaded and I use spotify a lot through my computer and phone (a premium subscription allows offline listening). Anyway, I have a budget of around £600 (which can be upped a bit, but will need to include speakers) and am looking for a something that will bring all the above together in a single 'proper' system. Probably the major source of music will be spotify so a good network connection is a must. I have looked at the Onkyo CRN755 (paired with Dali Zensor speakers) which seems to get rave reviews and ticks all of the boxes above. However, I have recently seen the Onkyo TX-8050 which seems to do the same, is more powerful , is a little bit cheaper and it does have more options for expansion... The reason this caught my eye is that I'm quite interested in the "Zone 2" approach to multi-room. I was at one point considering Sonos (but I'd have to save a while to get any more than one part of the system). If I could add an extra pair of speakers in the kitchen, that would be great (probably not as good as a sonos speaker in every room, but we can't have everything). Also, my use of CDs is pretty limited so the player on the CRN755 would be a bit redundant. I do like Onkyo's style of system as to me they look like a traditional hifi system and not too modern - if you know what I mean! They also seem to have a good relationship with Spotify allowing for (apparently) good integration. Plus, I want something that looks good on the shelf! After that rambling email, I guess my questions are: 1. Does anyone have any specific thoughts on comparing the CRN755 with the TX-8050? 2