New TV and receiver - which leads

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I have recently bought a new tv ( 5090 kuro ) and receiver ( denon 1910 ) and being a newbie i'm a bit puzzled as to the leads to be using.

I have a hdmi lead for the tv to the receiver but it is from the sky box ( standard until jan then hd ) and from my dvd player to the receiver i am struggling.

Also the speakers from my home cinema system ( four year old sony dav ) have connectors on the end of the wires, do i strip these off to connect them to the denon.

Do i need hdmi leads from all of these ? Soon enough i will be getting a blu ray player but for now the kids ps3 will have to do, again what kind of lead will i need.

Sorry if these questions seem a bit simple but i forgot how much of a technophobe i am
emotion-10.gif

Thanks

A

Anonymous

Having looked at the rear of my sky box it does not seem to have compatible connections to my 1910 receiver.

Scart / audio in out / s video ?

It is four years old could this be a problem.

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site
As far as the Sky box is concerned you don't connect the video to the receiver, only audio (optical digital cable probably), the SCART needs to go straight to the TV.

You haven't told us what DVD player it is, if it only has SCART connectors for video you could be in trouble. However if you have a PS3 you don't need a DVD player anyway, just play DVDs through the PS3.

Also you probably won't be able to use the speakers from the Sony DAV (again, knowing which model it is would help), as they won't be full range speakers and the 1910 will probably destroy them.

You really need to fill in some of the details.

A

Anonymous

Problem all ready as i only have the mains power cable and the hdmi lead chased through the wall from the telly (now papered over too ).

The dvd player is part of my all in one home cinema system a Sony Dav-DZ700FW which i paid about £400 pound for 4 years ago so not sure about the speaker capabilities.