New Home Cinema Setup-can you recommend me not too expensive speaker cables for the following

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
hi,

i have just purchased an Onkyo NR616 with Wharfedale DX1-NSP Speaker system. this is my 1st proper put together system. my last surround sound was a dolby prologic aiwa nsx-d939 surround hifi with speakers purchased eons ago so i am a total novice in this world.

i know its a bit cheeky but i was hoping you guys could advise me on a good cheap speaker cable. i initially thought go for something good so go for the carnivals then i totalled it to about a 100 pounds and thought err i may need to rethink this. will the speaker cable really make a difference anyway bearing in mind my last system wasnt exactly stellar?

advice appreciated. cheers guys.

A

Anonymous

just to add, my speaker manual recommends 'quality loudspeaker cable rather than low cost 'bell' or 'zip' wire'-are these all expensive and how do i tell if its 'bell' or 'zip' ?

Just buy standard cables to begin with & enjoy your system. You can always experiment with more expensive cables when funds allow at a later date. I suspect you'll be happy with standard cables & won't feel the need to upgrade. :)

Juzzie Wuzzie

I just hooked up £1,400 worth of equipment with £12 of speaker wire from Maplin, four cheap banana plugs, and four cheap spades. So support the idea of using basics, and then consider upgrading as and when funds allow / you think there is some benefit.

A

Anonymous

great. i have bought a few things allready on ebay and dont mind it. have just signed up for amazon prime though and am loving the next day service. would still like recommendations if possible. im not thinking like a few pounds spend- surely there must be a reasonable cheap cable-possible 50 pounds spend? my room is 3.5m x 3.5m and its a 5.1 speaker system.

edit: k just seen post above. 12 pounds speaker cabling for 1400 pound system ,eek. ok i will shop for something cheaper.