New hi-fi ,components matching.

Mike

Sep 28, 2014
Visit site
I have no experience in hi-fi,i listen music from my pc through a focusrite saffire le and Ms40 behringer near field monitors and the local hi-fi stores don`t have the products to go and check them ,so i am in the dark here .
The combinations i have in mind are:
1. Marantz PM6005 + Dali Zensor 3
2. Yamaha r-s300(or a-s500) + QAcoustics Concept20
3. Yamaha r-s300 + Monitor Audio bronze BX2
For turntable i`ll go for the Project Debut carbon or the RP1,with rega fono mini A2D
Any suggestions about matcing or other products?
Thank you!

rainsoothe

hi

why do you wanna give up on your active speaker setup? If the Focusrite has at least 1 analogue input, you could get a phono stage for your turntable (like the Rega fono mini A2D or Graham Slee Gram Amp 2 SE) and just upgrade your speakers to Yamaha HS7s or Adam A5x.

If you still want to go the hi-fi route, then I'm all up for the Marantz PM 6005 + Dali Zensor 3 combo, which imo sounds very good in that price range and, for me, betters the Yamaha AS500 + whateverspeakers.

Also, as far as i know, both the PM 6005 and the Yamaha AS500 have inbuilt phono stages, and I'm not sure the Rega mini is such a great upgrade, since it's a pretty cheap one, so you could just try your tt with the phono stages included in those particular amps first. In that price range, Denon PMA 720AE is also a good contender - maybe your hi-fi stores have that? This one also has an inbuilt phono stage.

Too bad you can't audition though, since your ears should be the deciding factor... What brands do your local hi-fi stores have? Also room size, music type and budget limit should attract more educated answers :)

steve_1979

Jul 14, 2010
Visit site
They might be over budget but if you can stretch to £700 I highly recommend the AVI DM5 active speakers.

Failing that you might be able to find a second hand pair of Genelec 8030 speakers for just over £500.

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site