Need new home cinema receiver for B&W XT series. Budget £2000-£4000

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am relatively new to the AV scene and have only just joined What HiFi. I have recently brought a complete B&W XT series (8's, 2's & XTC) and am confused which receiver to pair with them. Originally I was torn between the pioneer sc-lx83 and arcam AVR600. However I have been told the pioneer would be too bright for my speakers and would sound a bit harsh and the arcam while it is awesome with music, it isn't brilliant with movies (sounds too musical apparently). Another reason (probably the biggest) is the reliability issues surrounding this receiver which for £3600 should never happen.
I am not settling just on these 2 receivers but would like another opinion I.e. Which is better?, Which is better for my setup?, Are there any better alternatives (onkyo/yamaha)? Has Arcam sorted out the earlier issues with the AVR600?

Sony KDLX4500 (black obsidian speaker grilles), Sony PS3 40GB, X-box 360 slim 250GB, Wii (black), Sky HD 1TB, Apple TV 2, B&W Zeppelin, Apple iPad 2, 2x B&W XT8, 2x B&W XT2, B&W XTC, Alphason Accent cantilever stand.

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
Shinobi, welcome to the forum.

This is one that you are going to have to try for yourself, and may depend on how much music you listen to.

My answer is biased, as I own the AVR600 which sounds fantastic with both music and movies - I preferred it to the Susano, let alone the LX83. For my taste the Pioneer would be too brightly lit with your speakers - but I like a musical AV amp for movies.

They have sorted out most of the issues, but not all......in my opinion its issues are not enough to put me off. The mod to enable it to handle 3D (which is at extra cost), should allow
the signal to pass through unprocessed....which it doesn't at the moment.

Demo both, and do a search for "Arcam Products" on another AV forum.