Question Need Bright Speakers.

Papa Baker

Aug 6, 2021
Visit site
Hi Guys. Newbie here.
Ive been into Hifi for many years, I’ve made as many successful as unsuccessful purchases in my time. So to try and avoid another, should we say “disappointment” I’m asking for advice.
Im setting up my retirement project.
I’m starting with a Cambridge EVO 150. Most of my music is now streamed, Tidal, Spotify. I do have some vintage Vinyl but it’s not my go to yet, maybe later. (Hence the 150 as apposed to the 75)
Now here is my predicament. I’m close to hard of hearing and my hi frequency hearing level is totally shot.
( too many rock concerts in the 70s)
I’m looking for some floor standing speakers that are classed as “Bright” or maybe “Lively”
Currently I have a pair of Ruark Talisman IIs, They have been good soldiers but it’s time to move on.
budget £2000 ish. Room lightly furnished, 30sq Mts. Musical taste. 70s rock, Modern soft rock. Seriously appreciate some positive guidance.

Although I have not heard many some of the French brands have been described as bright, the likes of Triangle etc.
the type of tweeter will also influence this and some with ribbon tweeters can appear bright in the right setting when angled in towards your listening position.
Cannot recommend any particular models as it's not something I personally would be looking for in presentation.
what can you get to audition wherever you live?
You might seem another thread on here where someone considers his KEF Q5 tweeters to be too bright.

Reactions: Papa Baker
Welcome to the forum! If you have a browse through the myriad threads saying ‘my speakers are too bright’ you might be able to gather up a shortlist. But, deadly seriously, nobody here can choose for you, especially as your hearing is deteriorating - I sympathise.