Music server

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I hope I'm not in the wrong section. I have been considering the AVA RS3 music server but am unsure as to the quality of sound reproduction I will get and the best interface to my HiFi.

Has anyone got one of these devices in a genuine HiFi system and what is your opinion of it.

A

Anonymous

Hi phil12, I have none of the components you mention, but if you want to get a genuine hi-end sound you'll have to invest in a decent DAC.

I have listened to both the DacMagic and Benchmark USB DACs via their coax connections. Both, to my ears, are eclipsed by the Bryston BDA1 (as you'd expect with the price differentail), which is what I have now. The sound is stunning. I'm not good with superlatives so I'll leave it there.

(I use a Clearer Audio Silverline coax to connect my SqueezeBox to the DAC - it's a great sounding cable. Warmish yet with lots of detail.)

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site
oldgringo: Hi phil12, I have none of the components you mention, but if you want to get a genuine hi-end sound you'll have to invest in a decent DAC.

More than that, the AVA is not a streaming device, it's simply a NAS box (with ripping functionality) that can run several different options for server software. You'll still need a streaming device to pull the data off the AVA and convert it to audio (either directly or via a DAC).

What this means is that the AVA doesn't "sound" like anything, it doesn't output audio, just data. The sound quality will depend entirely on your streaming device and DAC.

A

Anonymous

oldgringo:
Hi phil12, I have none of the components you mention, but if you want to get a genuine hi-end sound you'll have to invest in a decent DAC.