Marantz amp help

stu888

Oct 15, 2023
Visit site
Hi everyone
New to the forum so please be gentle. I have acquired a marantz pm8000 amplifier. And a pair of mission m72i book shelf speakers. I have tried researching the amp online but seems to be little or no info/reviews about the amp . My questions are....
Is the pm8000 any good?

What would be a good cd player to use with the unit?

Am pretty happy with the sound atm but what would be the best speaker upgrade for the future? To get the most out of the amp.

Thanks for your time

Regards stu

D

Deleted member 201267

I have no knowledge regarding this amplifier but this would be a good start regarding a matching CD player :-

Reactions: stu888

stu888

Oct 15, 2023
Visit site
It's an old amp and plenty of information online. If you have it then surely you can determine if it's any good?
All I can find is 3 spec sheets quoting 3 different values..95,100,105 Watts per channel. And 3 reviews that ain't very informative consisting of it's basic amp...to I think its great was. after something a little more detailed. Such as a what hifi review. Am guessing it's simular to the pm7000. For the 130 quid I paid for the set up am quite happy with it as a starter point.
Thanks for the response
Regards stu

PREthe2nd

Oct 1, 2023
Visit site
I am not an expert but I think your amp (PM8000) is a slightly newer but similar to my PM7200, it has ability to change from Class AB to Class A which is unusual (and good in my opinion). I think there is bit more information online regardsing the 7200 than the 8000 - the 8000 may have been a minor upgrade.

PREthe2nd

Oct 1, 2023
Visit site
I have Bowers & Wilkins, 601S3 speakers, Marantz CD5400. I also have a stand alone DAC (Dac Magic 100) to allow me to play music from my PC and Project Debut Pro turntable. The turnatble is a recent replacement for an old one that stopped working. When i bought the amp it was on of few that came with a phono stage as standard at the price at the time.