Mac Book Pro need a DAC or not ?

A

Anonymous

Actually i will run B&W's 685 in a couple of days i think, but i don't want to buy an amp if it's possible, because all my music collection is mac-based so i don't have any cd's, only wav files with best quality

stevebrock

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
Probably best with some active speakers and definitely a DAC.......probably the HRT II streamer, that will be a considerable upgrade from the internal DAC on your MacBook pro.....make sure your rip in lossless too!

A

Anonymous

Ok so, if i take the B&W's, with the HRT dac it will be enough ? And the sound quality would be much better than with the macbook dac ? and do you think there's a HUGE difference between flac and 320 kbps MP3 ?

Thank you for the answers

A

Anonymous

It will be 500 euros, 600 MAX (actually i'm a student don't have a lot of budget)

paradiziac

Jan 8, 2011
Visit site
I just tried the headphone jack out of my Mac Book Pro...it's not too bad--better than the Macmini or any PC I've used and not too far behind a budget DAC.

You definitely need an amp unless you're plugging it into active speakers (where the amps are inside the speakers) so I would say that's your first priority...

A

Anonymous

I've had the Focal XS, but i think the B&W's it's very very better no ?

A

Anonymous

Just "maybe" ?? Do you thin the Focal XS can be at the level of Bower&Wilkins ones ?

stevebrock

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
You need to listen to them really, will the speakers be on dedicated stands or a desktop?

A dedicated amp/speaker combo will mostly sound better than actives on a desk.

It really depends what space you have

A

Anonymous

No i want a desktop solution if it's possible, but is doesn't matter to me to buy a DAC and a bunch of better speakers did you have any suggestions ? I listen ta all genres, mostly electronic bu i go for classical and rock very often too ..

AL13N

Nov 29, 2009
Visit site
ARTIST3_blk_mac_cover.jpg