Jamo A102 - What Amp Yamaha 765 Vs Denon 1910

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi - I am new to this and my first post so please be gentle!!

I have decided on a Jamo A102 speaker system and I think I have narrowed the Amp choice down to a Yamaha 765 or a Denon 1910.

I have discounted the Sony STR-DH800 as I believe it is a bright sounding Amp and will not sound great with the bright sounding Jamo's.

I have discounted the Onkyo 577 and 607 - reasoning was the fact they run hot, and the space I have for my equipment is not large. Also I believe they are bright sounding amps's so again not a good match with Jamo's. Also had an experience with Richer Sounds yesterday pushing the Onkyo ahead of anything else which seemed odd once I got home and did some research...think from reading this forum and others, this is not uncommon feedback with RS at the moment!!!

Please feel free to correct me on any of the above though...

I believe both the Denon and the Yamaha would be more than suitable (bordering on overkill!) for my requirements but would give me the scope for upgrading my speakers in the future without changing my Amp. I intend to run sky for TV, Ps3 for gaming and bluray and also Ipod into amp for music.

My original budget was £500, the Yamaha pushes it to £600 and the Denon to £650. I don't mind paying the additional £50 if the Denon is a much more compelling offering.

My understanding is the Denon is a great system although tricky to set up and the remote is not that functonal and probably better for music that the Yamaha....other than the comments about the denon being better than the Yamaha for music, reading around I cannot find any other adverse comments about the Yamaha....Can anyone offer any advice?

For my requirements is the Denon really worth the additional £50?

Are there any other systems I should consider?

Thank you in advance...

Big Aura

Oct 13, 2008
Visit site