Is Cyrus Pre VS2 / PSX -R / 8 Power set up any good?

Dr Beat

Sep 15, 2008
Visit site
Hi folks

I am new at this and was wondering if i could get advice on how best to start my first set up.

I have some limitations. Based on my budget, and i have a 20 ft by 20 ft room size, i have gone to do listen to some demo set ups. Unfortunately, most shops around me are sole agents for one brand or another, so they keep pushing for their own carrying brands. It's difficult to get listen to certain speakers matched with certain amps. However, i have managed to shortlist what's available and sounded good.

the recommendations i have to date are:

[*]Plinius 9100 int. amp, matched with Dynaudio Focus 110,
[*]Naim nait 5i int. amp matched with Neat Motive 2,
[*]Roksan Kandy 3 matched with Neat Motive 2,
[*]Cyrus Preamp VS2 and PSX - R /Series 8 Power, matched with Neat Motive 2, and lastly
[*]Cyrus Preamp VS2 and PSX - R /Series 8 Power matched with Dynaudio Focus 110.

(Cables used, consistently Chord Epic - BTW, is that an overkill or can i eventually get Chord Odyssey? How about Atlas Hyper 2.0??).

Any advice? I am slanting towards Option 5 - Cyrus set up. My music is diverse, bits of jazz to bits of rock. .

Appreciate any and all advice.

Thanks a bunch.

A

Anonymous

Hiya Dr,

I might be able to help you here. I've heard the Focus 110s with a 6vs, preVs2/6power, preVs2/8power. But in the end I ended up going for the preVs2 with an Xpower, I was offered a good price ex-demo and have not regretted it. Since you room is quite large it might be worth considering.

For speakers I got some Dynaudio 52se which after audition I found to be very similar to the Focus but again got a really good deal on a new pair. Both great speakers tho.

Regarding cables I've tried Epic and found it too fatiguing (brilliant) with the cyrus, Hyper 2 sounded great tho, and I've heard good things about Kimber with cyrus.

What's your source? Also do you have lots of soft furnishing in your room?