Invest to improve stereo performance?

s600bsb

Jan 1, 2015
Visit site
Hi, newbie here.

I would be grateful for some advice on my system, which I use to both watch movies and to listen to stereo music. The system consists of a Denon AVR-2310 receiver, Acoustic Energy Aegis Neo V2 5.1 speakers (with floorstanding Neo Three front speakers), a Rega P3/24 turntable, Marantz CD6005 CD player and a Samsung BD-H6500 blu ray player. Its the usual compromise, I watch a lot of movies with the family and also listen to a lot of music through the turntable and CD player. What I want to explore is how I can improve stereo performance while maintaining the single system. I have been considering getting a Marantz PM6005 amplifer (or maybe even a PM8005?) to drive the front speakers, connected using the pre outs on the Denon. Would this provide a worthwhile improvement for the investment? I would be grateful for any advice.

Glacialpath

Apr 7, 2010
Visit site
What is the lay out of your room and the position of the speakers in it. How far apart are your front pair? Is you sub intergrated into your Stereo set up or are you only able to use it for multichannel movies?

Glacialpath

Apr 7, 2010
Visit site
What seemss to be lacking when you listen to music?

If you could work your sub into your Stereo set up that would improve the sound when listening to music. As you know your front left and right speakers don't have to work so hard when you watch a movie/TV with you sub going as well as really they will be out putting mostly the high end and mids and maybe low mids. You sub should be taking care of the rest.

You fronts then have to work harder without the subs help while you listen to music.

It may be a case of playing with the speaker position while playing muisc. Get thaat as best you can then do another system set up with your AVR's mic and see if you can eek any more from your current set up.

Does your sub have a high pass connection or just the RCA connection?