Ideas for a small portable studio speaker system

chrisdnb

Feb 20, 2015
Visit site
Hi all, This is my first post here but I have read up to the 1100th post on the 'KEF LS50 disappointment :(' thread and have been researching this buying decision for a couple of months now, to the point of exhaustion.

I am a Drum and Bass producer and require a system that I can take with me when I live between different locations, for example I may spend the summer in Ibiza this year. Due to the low-frequency nature of DnB, I need a system that will represent 20Hz to 40Hz at -6db, and 40Hz upwards at -3db, and perhaps even more refined above 80Hz.

I do have excellent reference headphones but sometimes when I am designing a bass instrument I experience tinnitus and loss of balance because I am unknowingly hearing under 20Hz at reference levels, so I really need a speaker system that will let me work without subsequent discomfort.

The constraints would be: a small system that I could carry in two arms, and preferably white/silver in colour, with a good aesthetic look, accepting a 3.5mm stereo input and/or bluetooth from my laptop, and a maximum budget of 3,000 dollars or 2,000 uk pounds.

My research has led me to the following combination which I'm not really 100% happy with, for example I'm not entirely convinced that the amp will properly drive the speakers, and the sub is black in colour although could be skinned/painted, and maybe the LS50s are more Hi-Fi than studio, hence I created this thread for some better ideas:

NAD D 3020 DAC/Amp + Earthquake CP8 Sub + KEF LS50

Vladimir

Dec 26, 2013
Visit site
So sorry you had to suffer through that rant thread. *pardon*

NAD D 3020 DAC/Amp + Earthquake CP8 Sub + KEF LS50

My thoughts:

1) Nothing in that list is for professional use. Domestic hi-fi is what it is. I would be eary to lug it arround like I would pro gear.