Help with which kit to buy...

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi there,

I'm fairly new to all this and am looking for some help with which kit to buy.

I currently have an LG HD TV, to be upgraded to the Samsung UE40B8000 next week. I also have a Sky HD box with subscription and a PS3 with built in BlueRay player (are the BlueRay players on these any good?).

I am looking for something to link it all together sound wise.

I started off looking at the Jamo A102HCS5 speakers, paired up with a recommended amp? but then a stumbled across the Panasonic SC-BT200 and thought this sounded quite a good value deal.

So basically I'm not sure which way is best to go with the equipment I currently have and would like some advise and recommendations? I do have up to about £1000 to spend, but I obviously don't want to spend more than I need as I'm not a pro user.

The only two conditions I have are 1) I have to be able to use my own speaker cable, as it's already in the walls (it's good quality) and 2) the speakers have to be wall mountable.

Many Thanks,

Alan

A

Anonymous

To answer your queries:

1) The PS3 is a very versatile piece of equipment and it's blu-ray images are fine in isolation, but even a budget dedicated blu-ray player will beat it for picture quality, especially with motion. Expect improved clarity, vividness and edge sharpness.

The new slim version now even has the ability to decode HD codecs onboard, so as an all-in-one machine, you cannot beat it.

2) The JAMO A102 HCS5's are an excellent starting point for someone going down the separates route to a home cinema solution. I had these speakers myself and they are excellent for their price. But do bear in mind that you will also need a separate AV amplifier for the speakers to connect to.