Hello Everyone, Bit Of Help Please?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the Hi-Fi seperates scene. Deciding that it's about time that I bought myself a half descent stereo, Ive done a little research and realised theres a lot, lot more to this than I thought! And a lot that I really don't understand.

My budget isn't high at all (unfortunately), around £800 to £1000 max. Will be my first proper stereo though, plus I have plenty of time to some day get my Mcintosh or Naim!

After a lot of looking around I've found the Marantz Mcr603 Melody Media in a package deal with Q Acoustics 2020i's for just over £500. Which I think seem like a good little package as I've read good reviews for both the receiver and the speaker's.

I'm still undecided on the subwoofer though. I do listen to alot of bass driven music such drum n bass, dubstep as well as listening to many bands and other genres!

Have been looking at the Tannoy Ts2.10 and the Q Acoustics 7000s both of which seem good quality and bassy! But i'm still undecided between the two.

My question is: What subwoofer would you recommend to go with the package I'm thinking of getting, maybe something different altogether? (£400 max really). And what would be the best way to connect the subwoofer to the marantz to get the most effficency/power from it? The LFE input or the phono inputs?

Any help would be much appreciated, thankyou for taking the time to read.

Sam

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site
maximus123 said:
And what would be the best way to connect the subwoofer to the marantz to get the most effficency/power from it? The LFE input or the phono inputs?