Flash inside amp when switched on

emcc_3

Feb 20, 2008
Visit site
Earlier noticed a white flash inside my K3 when I turned the power switch on. Then wouldn't turn fully on from standby. Switched off and back on, all is now working as expected. Any ideas on what this might have been?

insider9

It doesn't sound good. There shouldn't be anything like that happening. I really don't know what it could be and hope it's nothing to worry about but I'd say call either Roksan or your dealer tomorrow.

I've spoken to Roksan before they will definitely help you as are a great knowledgeable bunch.

Gazzip

Jan 15, 2011
Visit site
When I was a student I owned an Audiolab 8000a that I had worked my ass off to own. This was in 1993 and we were talking £500-ish ISTC, which was serious wonga back then. Anyway, I went home from university for Christmas and proudly set it up with my KEF C75’s to show it off to my parents. Flash! Bang! Fizzz... the amp was deceased. Turns out my mums cat (little bastard) had sicked up through the vent grilles on top and all over the PCB. God knows how it managed it given that I only left it alone for an hour or so, and the vents were over the heat sink, not the PCB. Must have done it sideways and on purpose.

Do you own a cat and is it looking guilty?

Q

QuestForThe13thNote

If it’s a fault, argue that it was there at the start if you are overly concerned. They should give you a new one, not some lame warranty repair after 4 months that may not sort it. I’ve been there. Check the recent consumer legislation on your rights.

Blacksabbath25

Sep 20, 2015
Visit site
Gazzip said: