Question External desktop DAC + Amp for HD6xx

kareldgr

Dec 4, 2021
Visit site
As the title suggests I am thinking of getting an external dac & amp for my HD6xx headphones. They are currently
connected to an ASUS Essence STX II sound card. I am a newbie but have done some reading and am interested in
the Shiit Modi 3+ paired with a Vali 2+...
Would this setup sound better than the sound card? Thank you.

I thought I saw an ifi product recommendation recently that is designed for Sennheiser 6xx series headphones. No idea what it’s like, but surely worth considering? It’s almost as though you knew about this already and joined to get this very answer. Is that the case?

Friesiansam

For similar, or less money than the Schiit pairing, you could consider a used Audiolab M-DAC, they still pop up on Ebay from time to time. I used to have one and was very happy with it, until an unexpected windfall came along, together with a dose of upgrade-itis.

Reactions: Al ears

Tinman1952

I thought I saw an ifi product recommendation recently that is designed for Sennheiser 6xx series headphones. No idea what it’s like, but surely worth considering? It’s almost as though you knew about this already and joined to get this very answer. Is that the case?

Excellent suggestion. Paired with a Zen DAC that would take some beating!

kareldgr

Dec 4, 2021
Visit site

Not the case. Thank you though!

Edit: Read some reviews. Experiences with the 6XX enhancements seem to be generally positive.
Found this combo deal: https://www.wifimedia.eu/en/ifi-audio-zen-signature-bundle.html
Not sure if I'm ready to spend more than €500. I'll think about it.

Last edited:

Tinman1952

kareldgr

Dec 4, 2021
Visit site