Do it all 2.1 System

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi there,

I've always found this website so helpful so I'm wondering if you can help me with my dilemma. As with many other posts my question is about hifi and home cinema so apologies if this isn't the right place.

Basically, I enjoy film and playstation and music and i want to upgrade my whole audio/visual set up.
However, I'm unsure whether 5.1 Surround is for me - due to space, aesthetics and music quality, so I am thinking about a 2.1 set up. I must stress I am a newbie.

I'm pretty much building from the bottom up so the plan is:

TV: Was going to be the Pana 32LXD700 but with the new round of tvs out I might wait.

DVD/BlueRay: PS3

Freeview: BT Vision (already got)

Turntable: Project Debut USB (does it matter if BOTH amp and turntable have a phono stage?)

CD Player: Will hold onto my current player before upgrading later (possibly to Marantz)

So my first dilemma is amp. Do I get a stereo amp which I can put the tv/sub woofer through or do I get an av receiver and put my music through it. I would like to have my PS3 games through the amp and possibly DVDs. I realise I won't get the full experience but imagine it would at least add to my movie watching experience. And it needs to sound good at music. I may get surround sound in the (distant) future but it's not really not much of a consideration at the mo.

So, do I get a good stereo amp (maybe Rotel RA04 or MarantzPM6002) or do I get an AV amp, maybe the Cambridge Audio 340r or onkyo 506/606 - although I'd like the amp to look AND sound good.

Second Dilemma - Speakers:
The reason I am considering a 2.1 system is that I would like quite good speakers fo music and I am able to place the speakers close to the Left and Right of the TV. Also I don't like the idea of the centre speaker being just placed in front of the telly - I don't have anywhere else to put it.

I am considering Wharfedale Diamond 9.1s