Distortion on RCA input

Gadusmorhua

Jan 19, 2024
Visit site
I recently bought a CA A1 int amp for a bargain £40. I have a WiiM Pro Plus and a Chord Mojo which was fed, via line out on the Mojo, to the RCA sockets labelled Tape /MD.
Everything sounded great but yesterday I noticed a tiny bit of distortion had developed. By elimination I worked out it was that circuit, so changed to AUX/Phono and returned to clarity.
I am a total beginner and hope to replace the amp with something boasting digital inputs in the near future, but I'm curious as to what may have happened, and wonder if I run the risk of harming other inputs? I'm sure it is just a case of what do you expect with a thirty year old amp, or why did you plug it into Tape/MD you fool(!) Glad I started cheap anyhow.

I recently bought a CA A1 int amp for a bargain £40. I have a WiiM Pro Plus and a Chord Mojo which was fed, via line out on the Mojo, to the RCA sockets labelled Tape /MD.
Everything sounded great but yesterday I noticed a tiny bit of distortion had developed. By elimination I worked out it was that circuit, so changed to AUX/Phono and returned to clarity.
I am a total beginner and hope to replace the amp with something boasting digital inputs in the near future, but I'm curious as to what may have happened, and wonder if I run the risk of harming other inputs? I'm sure it is just a case of what do you expect with a thirty year old amp, or why did you plug it into Tape/MD you fool(!) Glad I started cheap anyhow.
Possibly something to do with the output voltage of the Mojo, I seem to recall it being switchable.
The amp inputs may not like anything above 2v.
You should be able to plug in to any phono sockets but I would avoid AUX/Phono unless it is switched to AUX.
Try Tuner or CD or whatever else you have there.

Reactions: twinkletoes

Gray

....changed to AUX/Phono and returned to clarity.
Those aux sockets go to the same place within the amp as the Tape / MD sockets do.