Crossover frequency settings

alastairpearce

Jul 29, 2011
Visit site
Hello,

I'm new to the home cinema realm, I've been more of a hifi enthusiast in the past.

However, I've just invested in a new surround system, and am looking to optimise the settings.

My system is pretty budget really:

- Denon AVR-1312 receiver

- Cambridge Audio S90 sub

- Cambridge Audio Lusso 10 satellite speakers

I chose the satellite speakers because I live in a small terraced house and didn't want to overwhelm the room (plus I've got small space and not annoying the neighbours to contend with!)

Anyway, the speakers have the following ranges:

Sub 35Hz - 180 Hz

Speakers - 150Hz to 20kHz

My questions are thus:

1. I presume the crossover should be in the range 150 - 180 Hz? This seems high compared to some recommended values of 80Hz, but I suppose this is symptomatic of the small satellite speakers.

2. The S90 sub has a dial on the back to change the crossover frequency. Do I need to adjust this dial as well as the crossover frequency, to match the settings on the receiver and the subwoofer?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Lee H

Oct 7, 2010
Visit site
Hi there,

alastairpearce said:
1. I presume the crossover should be in the range 150 - 180 Hz? This seems high compared to some recommended values of 80Hz, but I suppose this is symptomatic of the small satellite speakers.

Correct - probably around 160. 80 is an oft quoted THX figure, but in reality it's whatever your sub/speakers need it to be

alastairpearce said:
2. The S90 sub has a dial on the back to change the crossover frequency. Do I need to adjust this dial as well as the crossover frequency, to match the settings on the receiver and the subwoofer?

I turned the dial on the sub all the way up and do your adjustments on the amp.

alastairpearce

Jul 29, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the reply - changing the settings seems to have really hit the spot.