Confused about pairing Klipsch RP 600M with Denon PMA 60 amplifier

Dscience

Jul 20, 2022
Visit site
My first post, as I am new to the hi-fi stereo game.

I recently purchased some Klipsch RP 600M bookshelf speakers, and have a high-powered amp on the way. However, being the impatient, and aspiring-audiophile that I am, I couldn't wait to listen to the speakers. Thus, I purchased a used Denon PMA 60 stereo amplifier to use in the interim.

However, I am very confused about pairing speakers with amps, because 1.) my friend INSISTS that it is very bad to pair speakers with a low wattage amp, 2.) I called Klipsch and asked them and they confirmed that long-term you want an amp that matches the peak wattage of the speakers. But 3.) People all over the internet seem to use low-wattage amps all the time to power speakers.

Thus, I want to know more about this topic. Here are the specs for both units:

Klipsch RP 600M:
Sensitivity : 96dB @ 2.83V/1m
100W/400W (cont/peak)
8 Ohms impedance

Denon PMA 60:
Output power 8 Ohm (20 Hz - 20 kHz, T.H.D. 0.07%)25W (1kHz)
Output power 4 Ohm (1 kHz, T.H.D. 0.7%)50 W

I received the amp and speakers yesterday, and currently the PMA 60 is connected via USB to my desktop PC, and listening to digital sources it sounds incredible.

The volume knob on the PMA 60 is how I control the volume, keeping Amazon Music (etc) at about 75%, the Denon PMA 60 drives the speakers more than I can handle, and it's not even 3/4 all the way up. Even 1/4 is good listening volume.

Now, is my friend correct? Is this bad for the speakers? If so why?

Or is my friend ignorant on this subject?

Please school me on this subject, the student is ready!