Class D Amplification.

shooter

May 4, 2008
Visit site
Reading a recent post that went off coarse, thought i'd ask the question.

Do you think Class D amplification will take off?

ICE amplification is what they like to call it, but the likes of B & O, Lyngdorf and Rotel are bringing out Class D amps.

Obviously Class D has been around for years but are these brands are dipping there toe in future ampification?

Class D runs cooler, takes up less space, (so smaller units) consumes less power that means they are consequently greener than Class AB.

The likes of B & O and Lyngdorf seem to have it 'down to a tee' with sound quality but reading other posts Rotel are stuggling to achieve this (even though i have no experience of any brands mentioned), is this down to the aproach they have or does it cost more to be green, as this is usually the case!!

A

Anonymous

Digital or PWM amplifiers are actually analogue amps that switch on and off really fast. They change the amplitude of the signal by varying the width of the digital pulses (Pulse Width Modulation). There are, of course, many types including sony's S-Master, B&O's ICEpower, BASH and others which all work slightly differently.

Back in 1998 Peter Lyngdorf made the worlds first fully digital amplifier (Millenium mk1) whilst working for Tact. Then he went off and created a company of his own, Lyngdorf of course. He took the design with him and it's now in it's fourth iteration.

It would seem these technologies are the future. They are far more efficient, they require smaller components and power supplies and there is no crossover distortion like in class AB designs.

Even Mark Levinson is using Class D in there new monoblocks. This surely shows how good it can be when correctly implemented.