Calling all Cyrus AV Master 8 owners and general experts.....

Gusboll

Aug 22, 2008
Visit site
.....how does the AV Master act as a pre-amp? How does it (or can it) all connect up in terms of power amps and speakers whilst maintaining stereo on the front speakers?

For instance I have an AV Master, X Power Amp, 8vs2 Integrated Amp, with PMC fronts and centre, together with some Dali rears. With the AV Master as the Pre, can I bi-amp using the X Power and 8vs2 for CD playback whilst being able to switch to 'surround' for TV and DVD playback? It's all spaghetti to me!

Currently listening to: Teenage Fanclub - Grand Prix

A

Anonymous

1. Connect all stereo sources to 8vs2 as you probably have at the moment

2. Connect X power to pre-outs of 8vs2 as now

3. Connect front right / left pre-outs of AVMaster8 to 8vs2 (AV input)

4. Connect home cinema sources to AVMaster8 using digital connections if possible

5. Connect front speakers using biwire cable (treble to Xpower/ Bass to 8vs2 as now I assume)

6. Connect centre speaker to centre speaker terminal on AVM8

7. Connect rear speakers to rear speaker terminals on AVM8 (make sure you've got switch set to surround not rear for 5.1 setup).

If not using MC-US leads, you need to hold down AV button 8vs2 when turning it on to set it to pass-through mode for AV channel.

Need more help? Try Cyrus website for user manual (available in archive section) or search for cyrusunofficial website!

roten

Dec 3, 2008
Visit site
Hopefully I have understood what you want to do.

I used to have a set up with 6vs2, X power and Av Master 8.0 (the one with 3 internal power amplifiers)

I used the 6vs2 for pre and power duties and X power for front speakers, bi amping these. I would not use the AV Master 8.0 as a pre, as the additional channels are on and I found that the surround speakers gave a "hizz" sound when listening in stereo