Building a vinyl system around some KEF LS50 speakers (wired) – advice sought.

limeplasterer

Oct 4, 2020
Visit site
Hi,

I’ve got a pair of KEF LS50 speakers (wired) and would like to build an ‘analogue’ system for my vinyl collection by adding a turntable and integrated amp. I’m a newbie to this so forgive my lack of insight. Done a bit of background research and whittled down my choices, on paper:

Rogue Cronus Magnum III (I love the look and sound of valves but the Rogue’s tricky to get hold of in the UK) OR a Yamaha AS1200 (cheaper, readily available, well regarded but without the ‘valve allure’). Turntables – either a Planar 6 or 8, would the ‘jump’ from the 6 to 8 be worth it, given the speaker and amp candidates?

I face a common dilemma – what the combination of different products, which have good individual reviews, sound like and how they would work together: sound testing in shops that don’t hold all the kit is tricky at best. I’m unsure if some of these items would potentially ‘out class’ others in the chain (the Planar 8 for example) and the how the combination(s) of these amps / KEF’s / turntables would work in the real world. Any advice much appreciated.

Some time ago I was very interested in the Rogue Audio Sphinx hybrid integrated but got a very good deal on the amp I now have.
As you say dealers are very few and far between which isn't going to help if you ever have issues with said amp.
The Yamaha is a good choice.
Personally I would go for a Rega turntable these days even though I used to have the original Planar 3.
There's so much more in the way of competition now.
I believe your speakers need a good amp with plenty of power so I might reconsider the valve amp route.
What sort of budget did you have in mind for amp and for turntable?

Reactions: limeplasterer

limeplasterer

Oct 4, 2020
Visit site