Broken Cyrus Amp

liverpooljim

Sep 14, 2016
Visit site
Evening, I'm a newbie to forums but my set up is rather long in the tooth! It consists of a Mission Cyrus 1 mk2 amp, Linn Basik turntable with Linn Akito arm and Goldring 1012 cartridge, Musical Fidelity MC1 Speakers and a Aura (B&W) CD100 CD player all bought in or around 1992. They have all served me faithfully over the years: being lugged around to college, back home, to London then back north but unfortunately time and carelessnesss have taken their toll.

I need a new stylus for the cartridge, a new hinge for the lid of the Basik (and maybe a complete service as the 45rpm pully shift doesn't behave), the left speaker output on the Cyrus isn't strong and the on/off switch is temperamental, and I think a new laser (or service) is required for the Aura CD Player.

The questions are: do I get the Basik serviced (along with a new stylus), get the Cyrus serviced and get the Aura fixed? Or do I get a new amp - if so which one - as, although I love the detail of the Cyrus I now need some warmth and base (severly lacking for those who know these amps)? Is it worth biting the financial bullet and buying a Linn Sondeck and transfering the Akito and Goldring 1012 over to it? Is it the speakers (again detailed but lacking in warmth)? Do I get a second hand amp? I love the Aura though.

Ahhhhh! I realise that there are lot of options but ideas/experience is very welcome from all. About £500 to spend if we keep the Linn Basik - more if not!

liverpooljim said:
Evening, I'm a newbie to forums but my set up is rather long in the tooth! It consists of a Mission Cyrus 1 mk2 amp, Linn Basik turntable with Linn Akito arm and Goldring 1012 cartridge, Musical Fidelity MC1 Speakers and a Aura (B&W) CD100 CD player all bought in or around 1992. They have all served me faithfully over the years: being lugged around to college, back home, to London then back north but unfortunately time and carelessnesss have taken their toll.