Beginners guide to using an SPL meter needed!

Oldboy

Sep 13, 2007
Visit site
Hello all,

I decided to buy an spl meter after i bought a new amp at the weekend (Denon avr 2310) to get the most out of my system but after looking through the interweb all the so called guides are far to technical and take it for granted that you have the technical knowledge, can anyone supply a guide for a complete beginner please??

This is the first time i have bought a SPL meter and the conflicting advice from other sources has left me even more confused so any help is much appreciated! Just for your info i have bought the Silverline SPL meter which is exactly the same as the Radioshack SPL but in different colours.

Many thanks.

AlmaataKZ

Jan 7, 2009
Visit site
http://www.denon.co.uk/site/frames_main.php?main=prod&MID=3&sub=1&fill=1&action=detail&Pid=413&

Doesn't the Denon come with the mic for auto set-up included? If it does, you would not 'need' an SPL meter.

What is it you are trying to do? If you just want to set the relative levels of the surround speakers then the auto-setup should do it OK and you can return the SPL meter.

Otherwise, this (in the reviews) has a quck guide on how to setup speaker levels with the meter.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Silverline-633937-Sound-Level-Meter/dp/B0015NSTLI

Oldboy

Sep 13, 2007
Visit site
No set up mic is completely accurate, including the audessy mic supplied with my Denon amp. I am trying to get my speakers set up as accurately as possible which is why i bought the SPL meter but i have no idea how to use it, all i'm trying to do is balance the volume levels in my system. I've tried just using test tones with just my ears in the past and it never seems accurate and just hit and miss, the SPL meter ensures you get the correct balance of volume levels.

markyd

Mar 21, 2010
Visit site
The most basic calibration I would suggest would be:

Set your meter to a C-weighted curve (closest to the human ear)