Beginners Guide to Cartridges & Stylus

losalnos

Mar 31, 2016
Visit site
Hi All,

Total novice here so please forgive my ignorance. A few months ago my old trusty record play I've had since I was was a kid packed in. I don't have a huge record collection (and perhaps more importantly my finances are limited) so didn't want to spend hundreds of pounds and picked up a second hand Ariston Q deck. It's about 25 years old so whilst still seems a decent turntable for my needs, the cartridge and stylus are also still original and I wondered if it would be good for both the audio performance (and possibly the good health of my records) if I updated the Cartridge and/or the Stylus?

Thing is, I don't really know where to begin. For a start, I don't really know the difference between the two; what each actually does, and I certainly don't know what I should be looking for should I want to replace them - do they come as 1 thing or 2?!

I'm also hugely concious that I have bought (what I hope is a decent, but nonetheless) budget turntable, so I'm aware there's no point spending several hundred pounds on replacements, so any pointers or recommendations would be great. In terms of the music I listen to (I assume different models have different characteristics), it's general rock and pop, and some acoustic singer-songwriter, so just a solid balanced sound would be great - not looking for any megabass or anything.

Anyway, apologies for the ignorance and thanks in advance for any help you all can give.

spiny norman

Jan 14, 2009
Visit site
losalnos said:
I wondered if it would be good for both the audio performance (and possibly the good health of my records) if I updated the Cartridge and/or the Stylus?

What's the cartridge fitted at the moment? If it's a decent one, and the stylus can be changed (not all can), it would probably benefit from a new stylus, as you don't know how much use/abuse it's had in the past.