Audiophile newbie, pregnant wife --> Need new set up recommendations!

VS85

Nov 20, 2013
Visit site
Hi all,

I'm new to the audiophile world. I've always been in love with sound. I am an amateur pianist (been playing for 20 years now). The first thing I bought when I had the money was an acoustic piano because I couldn't stand the sound from my older digital piano (a fairly high end one). So I think I have it in me to be an audiophile. ;)

Like the title says, my wife just got a positive pregnancy test. This has spurred me to look for new speakers because among other things like my wife's nutrition, a primary responsibility that I have is to provide the developing baby a great sonic atmosphere. So I'm looking to buy a good set up mainly to play classical music and jazz. I will probably stick to a two channel stereo set up to get more bang for the buck. Being a student, I have a limited budget of $1000 for everything included (speakers, amp/receiver, cd player, and misc stuff like speaker wires). I'll also need to get cd's since I currently have my music collection in mp3 format on my computer.

Please make suggestions for complete systems because I know that there are certain speakers that work better with one kind of receiver than another.

Here are is a shortlist that I've come up with for speakers (but I have very little idea what to pair them with in terms of amp/receiver). Some of these may be on the higher end leaving me little money for the other stuff that I will need but if it is really worth the money, I can come up with an extra couple of hundred bucks:

1. Paradigm monitor 9 (10 years old,on Craigslist, I can get a pair for $250)

2. Infinity primus p363

3. polk monitor 70 (newegg deal on dealsnews = $143/ea. Don't know if this deal has expired)

4. pioneer spfs52 $129 ea on amazon

5. Boston Acoustics A 360

6. B&W 683 (1 yr old) on CL for $1k / pair, trying to negotiate down a bit

7. KEF Q500 (around $850/pair)

8. Klipsch RF 62 II ($760/pair)