ARC Problem with new TV

NJB

Nov 28, 2008
Visit site
Hi, I just bought a Samsung KU6400 TV, wired it in and cannot make it work with my Sony DN840 AV amplifier. So, here is what does and does not work:

BD through HDMI from BD player to AV Receiver to TV is working.

TV connected to AV Receiver with an optical cable is working.

HDMI through the ARC connection on the TV to AV Receiver gives NO sound.

I have tried different HDMI cables (do I need a special type?). The TV allows me to select the sound output but the HDMI receiver is sometimes in the list, sometimes not. When I select it, I get the little jumping sound display that suggests that the TV is using that output, but cannot hear anything through the AV Receiver.

Yesterday, I found a thread talking about 4K pass through as a possible issue, but the DN840 says it does this.

I am not an expert on this kind of thing, and the AV Receiver is particularly complex to set up. I tried different settings for the TV audio output, no difference, so have returned to the default of PCL. At no time has the TV tried to link through Anynet, which my old TV did. Again, no idea why not, or if it should!

Any help gratefully received

abacus

So long as the HDMI cable meets the HDMI Specifications, it will be fine. (Don’t be conned into buying expensive cables, as they don’t make any difference)

Disconnect the optical cable, as it is not needed with ARC.

Make sure the cable is connected to the ARC output of the receiver and the ARC input of the TV. (Not all the HDMI sockets have ARC)

Make sure ARC is turned on in the TV menu, and also turned on in the receiver. (It may also need to be reassigned, if you have changed it to the SP-DIF input)

Hope this helps

Bill

NJB

Nov 28, 2008
Visit site