Amplifier

S. Basu

Jun 22, 2015
Visit site
Hiiii,

I am new in Waht Hi Fi. I bought Focal Chorus 706V & Marantz PM 5004 stereo amplifier. But some how I am not happy with it's sound performance. I purchase this product February 2015. After playing 300-400 hours and burning out I didn't get the exellent sound. May be the reason of Amplifier. Plz suggest me can I change my amplifier if yes then what is your recomendation?

I also thinking to switch my system to KEF Q300 with Yamaha AS 500. I need your suggestion.

iQ Speakers

Feb 24, 2013
Visit site
Hi and welcome, I'm asumiming you listened and liked the Focals? Even if didn't I think you are probally on the right lines with the amp. The Focals are pretty good. What dont you like about the sound? Lack bass? or bass definition tightness. Room size? type of music? But if I were you given your probal budget of £400 for the amp i would try a 2nd hand Rega Brio R or even better a Lemma Pulse, both you should get for around £400 450. the great thing with buying 2nd hand is you should get far better equipment for the price and if you dont like it you can sell it for what you bought it for. I had a Leema Pulse driving PMC DB1i lovely sound, I recently heard some GB1's the floorstanding version also very good.

S. Basu said:
Hiiii,

I am new in Waht Hi Fi. I bought Focal Chorus 706V & Marantz PM 5004 stereo amplifier. But some how I am not happy with it's sound performance. I purchase this product February 2015. After playing 300-400 hours and burning out I didn't get the exellent sound. May be the reason of Amplifier. Plz suggest me can I change my amplifier if yes then what is your recomendation?

I also thinking to switch my system to KEF Q300 with Yamaha AS 500. I need your suggestion.

Focals are generally very good and should match the Marantz well. As IQ says did you audition both before parting with your money, and what aspect of the sound aren't you too pleased with?