Hi all. This is my first attempt with internet chat, so I hope someone can point me in the right direction.

My system is as follows: Arcam A65 Plus, CD73T, MA RS6, Project Xpression 1 with a Clearaudio classic wood Cartridge, Marantz ML2060 Tuner (circa 1980). Interconnects/speaker cable: Merlin Chopin/Chord Carnival Silver Plus.

Please could I have advice on how to make the most of my speakers. Overall, the sound of my present set-up is very good, although with certain types of music it lacks a little oomph. I've tried different makes at home [thanks to a very tolerant retailer], including the old Naim Nait 5I, Arcam A70, MF A300. They all have their qualities but lack the synergy of the current kit.

Listening distance from speakers is a tad under 3mtrs. We have thick carpets and soft furnishings.

What I'm looking for is an amp that's punchier and more detailed than the A65 and less fatiguing than the Naim.

I apologize if a similar thread has already has been posted by someone else.

Thanks

John Duncan

Could be tricky, since those speakers could have an additive effect on any fatigue-prone amps........

Some you might consider are the Marantz PM7001 (also available in KI form, I found out yesterday), the Primare i21 (or older, second hand alternatives, like the A30.1), the Rega Mira (though others here will laugh at that suggestion) and the Creek Classic.

An alternative (albeit a more expensive one) is to look at the amp and speaker combination together, since something like the Nait with a slightly more forgiving tweeter might be just your bag.

Thanks JohnDuncan, I have to say I quite like the Marantz but my main reservation with that option is, with CD73T, it might sound a bit rich and warm?