Advise needed - Onkyo HT-R693 or Denon AVRX1200W

dalforce

Mar 6, 2016
Visit site
Hi! Everyone,

I am new to a home theatre setup and would like to seek some advise on which set of system to get for connection to my projector.

Option 1 - Onkyo HT-R693 with HTP-678 5.1.2 Channels (Sold as Onkyo HT-R7705) - Made in Malaysia
http://www.intl.onkyo.com/products/system_components/home_theater/ht-s7705/index.html

Option 2 - Denon AVR-X1200W with Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS - Made in China
http://www.denonasia.com/ap/product/hometheater/avreceivers/avrx1200w

The salesguy recommended Onkyo as its is more powerful and comes with Dolby Atmos.
But I have read about Onkyo HDMI issues.

Any thoughts?

nugget2014

Jan 1, 2014
Visit site
dalforce said:
Hi! Everyone,

I am new to a home theatre setup and would like to seek some advise on which set of system to get for connection to my projector.

Option 1 - Onkyo HT-R693 with HTP-678 5.1.2 Channels (Sold as Onkyo HT-R7705) - Made in Malaysiahttp://www.intl.onkyo.com/products/system_components/home_theater/ht-s7705/index.html

Option 2 - Denon AVR-X1200W with Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS - Made in Chinahttp://www.denonasia.com/ap/product/hometheater/avreceivers/avrx1200w

The salesguy recommended Onkyo as its is more powerful and comes with Dolby Atmos.But I have read about the issues of Onkyo HDMI issues.

Any thoughts?

i'm getting the 1200w next week. it has everything i need and is cheap! the denon has atmos and dts:x. and is powerful enough

dalforce

Mar 6, 2016
Visit site
Hi! nugget2014,

Thanks for the quick reply.
I am more inclined towards the Denon, just that I don't really like the SoundWare XS speakers in their bundle.
On the other hand, the Onkyo speakers are Atmos-enabled.

Any recommendations on alternative speakers for the Denon?

By the way, I am offered the same price of S$1099 for them.

Many thanks in advance!

nugget2014

Jan 1, 2014
Visit site
dalforce said:
Hi! nugget2014,