Advice - bookshelf system

Vandeley

Dec 27, 2015
Visit site
Hi.
I'm a hifi newbie who wants to invest in my first real system. I'm looking for an amp and a pair of bookshelf speakers. I've been reading up, and testing different combinations, but I find myself a little unsure and having alot of questions, bear with me...

I know the best thing is to test the products, unfortunately not all the models are avaliable where I live.
A little background info; the room is 195 square foot, i'm planing on playing a lot from Spotify and my iTunes library, and also vinyl from an old B&O Beogram 9500 turntable (so also looking for an RIAA).
Furtermore i'm planing on using it for movies as a home cinema system.
I'm listening to a lot of early 90's hip hop (Outkast, Nas, Jay-Z, Slick Rick), older soul and reggae (Gregory Isaacs, Bob Marley, Isley Brothers, George Benson) but also newer electronic music (John Talabot, Axel Boman, Moodymann, Nicolas Jaar).

The amp; i'm narrowing in on the NAD d3020 and the Marantz pm6005.
I really like the bluetooh option with the NAD, but since I have an iPhone I won't be able to listening in aptX? I also have a newer MacBook pro, so I hope I will be able to play with the aptX codec?

But since i'm also planing on listening to a lot of vinyl, I thought maybe the Marantz would be stronger analogue?
I would still like the option to play wireless from time to time, so I was wondering if I could get the same quility as the NAD from bluetooth receivers like Arcam miniblink or QED uPlay, or maybe investing in Apple TV or AirPlay Express?

Cable wise, how I would get most out the DAC in the pm6005 since it dosen't have USB? And is there an option for the NAD other than USB to get better sound from the DAC?

Speakers; i've been looking at the B&W 685 s2, Dali Zensor 3 and Monitor Audio Bronze 2.