A query on connecting HD sources to Onkyo AV receiver.

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi

I am very new to all of this but have been reading various threads over the last 2 or 3 weeks. I am in the market for a new TV and AV receiver.

I currently have an old 28" CRT TV, Sky digital (Not HD), an old Kenwood AV reciever and a Playstation 3. I also have 2 technic 1200 turntables and a Vestax pre-amp/mixer that i also run though my current AV receiver via the phono input.

I am looking at getting a Panasonic TH-42PX70 and an Onkyo receiver. I will be using the Playstation 3 as my CD/DVD/Bluray player and maybe upgrading the Sky to HD in the near future.

I have 2 questions. Both of which are probably extremely easy to answer, so here goes. Hopefully someone can answer these for me.

1. When connecting a PS3 or Sky HD or both to an AV receiver with HDMI inputs how many are you typically going to need? 1 input for the Playstation 3, 1 input for the Sky HD and 1 input for the TV or is the TV plugged into and HDMI output from the receiver? The Onkyo TX-SR605 has 2 inputs and 1 output. Do i need the TX-SR705 as this has 3 inputs and 1 output.

2. Do i need to use a phono input for my turntables via the pre-amp/mixer or can i use AUX or CD or Tape etc. The Onkyo TX-SR605 doesn't have a phono input but the TX-SR705 does.

Really looking forward to getting all the kit up and running just need some help choosing the correct AV receiver.

If the answer is TX-SR705, should i go for the 805, 875.........oops i am getting dizzy!!!

Thanks in advance

Scott

A

Anonymous

1 . I order to get audio from the tv you would need both an in and out connection, but if your using sky there isnt much point in that, so connecting it to just the output would be fine. so and in for sky and in for ps3 and the out for the tv.

2. if you have a phono preamp, you dont require a special phono connector on the AV amp, only a standard line level input. Tape, CD or Aux would all be fine.