A challenge for the experts: Best entry-level record player within budget?

TazCaz

Jan 15, 2016
Visit site
Hi,

I've been doing my research into the world of record players. Although I grew up in the era of vinyl, I've been using digital most of my life, so I admit I have very little knowledge in this area (be gentle!).

Before I set up my own sydtem, I'm looking to buy something as a gift for a friend. My limit is £250.

I originally started looking at the Crosely players (namely the Crosley Nomad). Yes, yes, I know they are panned, but it was my first point of call, simply because my friend had seen a similar setup and liked the retro look. Also because they provide an all-in-one setup within my price range.

Certainly I don't want anything that will ruin his vinyl collection as he accumulates it, but I also don't have loads of money to spend on this gift. And I want to get him the entire system so he can use it right away, rather than blow my budget on one thing, and then him need to go and buy extra equipment himself.

A capability to burn vinyl into digital is not vital, as he'll just be starting his record collection now.

Like I said, I've very inexperience and I completely apprecite that serious audiophiles will say finding something decent at this price is "impossible" or "not worth it", and that's fine - but if anyone out there can recommend a satisfactory all-in-one or reasonably prices combination setup that costs no more than £250 (complete with recommendations of actual models), it would be very much appreciated. It doesn't have to be the most amazing thing around, just good enough to keep a newbie happy and not wuin his records.

If he chooses to update later as he gets more into vinyl, that's up to him. This is just meant as a 'starter' system. He's not a muso, a DJ, or an audo aficionado but, like me, he simply loves music and is keen to start exploring the world of vinyl.