10 pounds saved my speakers ( Long post warning

newlash09

Aug 28, 2015
Visit site
Hi all :)
I was so impressed with the pairing of the parasound and the concept 40's that I was in no hurry to unpack the PMC twenty 26's for the first few days. I found it difficult to imagine that a change of speaker could further improve the sound quality i was getting from this combination. So finally with a lot of excitment, I unpacked the PMC's and placed them on the inside of the concept 40's.
And once I started playing, I was left scratching my head. The sound was muddy and distorted, and there was no resemblance of any sound staging to speak of. I thought that probably speakers at this level, demand a different level of electronics and recordings, as they are too transparent. And the PMC's were showing up the poor quality of my low bit rate mp3's. And once I switched back to the concept 40's they sounded miles better. Excellent clarity and sound staging again. I sat there sinking in my chair. Counting all my lost money.
Then i again plugged back the PMC's and the sound was almost emanating only from the right speaker, skewing the entire sound stage. I was used to this in my listening position. As the right speaker gets more boundary re-enforcement. I tried using the balance control on the amp to center the sound stage again. And found that I had to load the left speaker heavily to get the vocals in the center.