Yet another poll from a Debut Carbon DC owner

hybridauth_Twitter_43371788

Oct 11, 2017
Visit site
Have a great day everyone,

My girlfriend made me a gift which is a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon DC, and I'm very happy for that. Now it is time to pair it up with nice speakers and a good amplifier. And here I am lost.

Let me write briefly which genres I do listen usually; I love 70s-80s rock, especially on the turntable. I can't wait to listen all those LPs I've collected. First stamp UK editions of Pink Floyd, Dire Straits etc.

My budget; is max €1000. But it does not mean that I want to spend this money. :)

After my research I came up with Marantz PM6006 and Q Acoustics 3020. I did not think if they could work nicely together. I am very new in this world therefore I am open for any suggestion/lesson that I might get from What Hi-Fi family.

I know PM6006 is an integrated amp, and I guess maybe it is better to buy a pre-amp separately for the ultimate sound quality. In that case I am open for suggestions on that matter as well.

Regarding to the speakers; I found a very nice pair of B&W 601 S3, for a reasonable price. But couldn't be sure if it is a good idea to buy used speakers from long time ago, instead of the QAcoustics 3020. (any other suggestion welcome, even old ones)

Looking forward for ideas. Thanks!

A few vital questions:

- What amp and speakers do you currently own?

- What size room do you have?

- Do you play music loud or quiet?

- Room furnishings: Do you have hard floors or carpets/curtains?

You can get better value from s/hand equipment so search local dealers for ex-dem, s/hand or end of line stuff. With a dealer, also, you'll get a warranty and/or a Returns policy, assuming you can't dem before buying.

rainsoothe

iceman16 said:
It could be more slightly over budget but I suggest s/hand or ex demo Arcam A29 and Focal aria 906.